Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Else Kröner Fresenius Award for

Development Co-operation in Medicine 2018

Topic in 2018: Non-communicable diseases

Deadline for submitting applications: 1 July 2018 (has finished)

The Else Kröner Fresenius Award for Development Co-operation in Medicine acknowledges projects that serve towards improving healthcare in developing countries. The award is endowed with 100,000 euros. This year it honours projects pertaining to the topic of non-communicable diseases.

Numbered among the group of non-communicable diseases are illnesses such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, cancer, chronic respiratory illnesses and mental disorders. Each year up to 30 million people in developing countries die due to these kinds of illnesses. Since 2015 they have been regarded as the most frequent cause of death worldwide.

Projects can be honoured which  

  • serve towards improving medical training and/or patient care in the field of non-communicable diseases in developing countries,
  • have been already running for at least one year and shall be continued for at least one year (planned projects are excluded from the competition),
  • are not yet being supported by the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung foundation.

A project depiction no longer than five pages must particularly include the following points:

  • detailed description of the project goals and the activities achieved along with those measures still planned,
  • representation of the project’s effectiveness and the number of patients/trained persons benefiting from it,
  • the project’s perspective and sustainability,
  • inclusion of local partners in project planning, implementation and continuity,
  • accountable project manager in charge on-site,
  • project funding and the project’s co-operating partners,
  • planned use of the prize money within the scope of the project.

Please send your application documents by e-mail to hum.preis2018(at)ekfs.de.

You can find important information regarding application submission as well as the formal prerequisites at:

The awards ceremony shall take place on 22 November 2018 at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Co-operation and Development (BMZ) in Berlin.

Your Contact Person:

Dr. Judith von Heusinger
medizinisch-humanitäre Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (Medical-humanitarian Development Co-operation)
Phone +49 (6172) 8975-17
Mail: j.heusinger(at)ekfs.de