Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Funding for young researchers

New call for young researcher funding applications each year

In targeted competitive calls for applications, the EKFS offers a broad range of measures for the support of young researchers and, in particular, Clinician Scientists.

The individual grants and coordinated programmes accompany the entire career path: from the medical student or life scientist with a passion for research, to the internationally successful senior research consultant:

  • Else Kröner-Promotionskollegien for medical students
  • Else Kröner-Fresenius-Förderinitiative for top foreign medical researchers

Else Kröner-Memorial-Stipendien

Once again this year, the Else Kröner-Fresenius Foundation is dedicating one competitive call for applications to funding for young medical researchers. 

Else Kröner Memorial Stipendien are individual fellowships for young physicians in further education, who wish to implement a two-year project. Funding is capped at €90,000 salary plus €20,000 for material resources p.a. for two years. Three fellowships are awarded nationwide throughout Germany. Interested physicians are asked to apply in person.

Deadline: 12.4.2018 - finished


Else Kröner-Exzellenzstipendium

The Else Kröner-Exzellenzstipendium grants clinicians at senior consultant level a two-year leave of absence for an intensive research phase. Applicants must be able to produce evidence of outstanding research achievements and be clinically active in a position of responsibility.

The funding volume per fellowship includes €300,000 for two years to cover salary and material resources.

Deadline: 7.8.2018


Else Kröner-Promotionskolleg for medical students

The Else Kröner Promotionskolleg für Medizinstudenten offer the scholars the opportunity to focus entirely on their thesis for at least one year in a scientifically promising research project – embedded in an inspirational environment with experienced and committed supervisors.

In order to participate, both the supervisors and the scholars must qualify in a careful selection process. The major objective: To achieve results within the scope of the doctoral thesis, which meets with international and scientific response in the form of a lead author paper.  The maximum funding volume per research college and location amounts to €750,000 for three years, with the option of a second period.

The next call for proposals is expectet in 2020.


Else Kröner-Forschungskollegien for Physicians

The Else Kröner Forschungskollegien for Physicians are an innovative tool in the German funding landscape and are geared to research-intensive university hospitals. The scholars can focus fully on their research project for one to two years and work on a joint subject area within a scientifically excellent research group. An accompanying curriculum also creates an extensive knowledge base and establishes contacts with international experts. The maximum funding volume per research college amounts to €1.0 million for three years, with the option of a second funding period.

Deadline: 2.5.2018 - finished

Overview of current research colleges

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg C. Kalff Innate immunity and chronic organ dysfunction, Bonn University Hospital (granted in 2011 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2014.)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Stilgenbauer Stem cells, aging and malignant transformation. From experimental model to clinical application, Ulm University Hospital (granted in 2011 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2014.)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Beilhack Interdisciplinary translational immunology, Würzburg University Hospital (granted in 2011 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2014.)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Walz Renal dysfunction as a complication of systemic diseases, Freiburg University Hospital (granted in 2013 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2016.)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer Microbial triggers as cause of diseases, Technical University of Munich (granted in 2013 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2016.)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Klein Rare diseases of the immune system - from the pathophysiology to the development of new treatment strategies, LMU Munich Paediatric Clinic and Polyclinic in the Dr. von Hauner’schen Children’s Hospital (granted in 2013 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2016.)
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Dobbelstein Molecular therapy and prediction in colorectal carcinoma, University Medical Center Göttingen (granted in 2014 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2018.)
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda Targeted therapy strategies in oncology ("Targeted Therapies"): from the molecular basis to clinical application, University Hospital Frankfurt a. Main (granted in 2014 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2018.)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Fischer The role of the inflammatory microenvironment for the development of preneoplasia: from the molecular signals to new treatment strategies, University Hospital Magdeburg (granted in 2014 for 3 years; one-time extension for a further 3 years following a successful review in 2018.)
  • Prof. Dr. Ghazaleh Tabatabai Therapy resistance in solid tumours, University Hospital Tübingen (granted in 2016 for 3 years.)
  • Prof. Dr. Marion Subklewe Immunotherapy in the treatment of cancer: mechanisms of action and resistance, LMU University Hospital of Munich (granted in 2016 for 3 years.)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Falkai Translational psychiatry, LMU University Hospital of Munich (granted in 2016 for 3 years.)
  • Prof. Dr. Otto Witte Aging and disease: translational analysis of therapeutic interventions (AntiAge), University Hospital Jena (granted in 2016 for 3 years.)
  • Prof.Dr.Ali El-Armouche Dynamics of the phosphoproteome: Novel working principles and interdisciplinary concepts for the therapy of cancer, neurodegenerative disorders and diabetes, University Hospital Dresden (granted in 2017 for 3 years.)
  • Prof.Dr. Peter Oefner Interdisciplinary translational Immuno-Oncology, University Hospital Regensburg (granted in 2017 for 3 years.)
  • Prof.Dr.Heike Pahl Immunological Causes and Therapies of Cancer, University Hospital Freiburg (granted in 2017 for 3 years.)
  • Prof.Dr. Christian Reinhardt Targeting therapy-induced dynamic alterations within the cancer genome, University Hospital Köln (granted in 2017 for 3 years.)

Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Nachwuchsförderung

Jährlich wechselnde Ausschreibungen zur Nachwuchsförderung

In gezielten wettbewerblichen Ausschreibungen bietet die EKFS ein breites Spektrum von Maßnahmen zur Förderung von Nachwuchsforschern und insbesondere von Clinician Scientists.

Die Einzelförderungen und koordinierten Programme begleiten den gesamten Karrierepfad: vom forschungsbegeisterten Medizinstudenten oder Lebenswissenschaftler bis zum international erfolgreich forschenden Oberarzt:

  • Else Kröner-Promotionskollegien für Medizinstudenten
  • Else Kröner-Fresenius-Förderinitiative für medizinische Spitzenforscher aus dem Ausland

Else Kröner-Memorial-Stipendien

Auch in diesem Jahr widmet die Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung eine wettbewerbliche Ausschreibung der Förderung des forschenden Nachwuchses in der Medizin. 

Else Kröner-Memorial-Stipendien sind Individualstipendien für junge Ärztinnen und Ärzte in der Weiterbildungsphase, die ein zweijähriges Forschungsprojekt umsetzen wollen. Finanziert werden max. 90.000 Euro Gehalt plus 20.000 Euro Sachmittel p.a. für zwei Jahre. Bundesweit werden drei Stipendien vergeben. Interessierte Ärztinnen und Ärzte bewerben sich bitte persönlich.

Fristende: 12. April 2018


Else Kröner-Exzellenzstipendium

Mit dem Else Kröner-Exzellenzstipendium erhalten Klinikerinnen und Kliniker auf Oberarztniveau für eine intensive Forschungsphase eine zweijährige Freistellung. Bewerber müssen herausragende Forschungsleistungen vorweisen sowie in verantwortlicher Funktion klinisch tätig sein.

Das Fördervolumen umfasst je Stipendium für Gehalt und Sachmittel bis zu 150.000 Euro p.a.

Die Stipendiaten 2016


Else Kröner-Promotionskollegien für Medizinstudenten

Die Else-Kröner Promotionskollegien bieten den Kollegiaten die Möglichkeit, sich mindestens ein Jahr ganz auf die Doktorarbeit in einem wissenschaftlich aussichtsreiche Forschungsprojekt konzentrieren zu können – eingebettet in einem inspirierenden Umfeld mit erfahrenen und engagierten Betreuern.

Für die Teilnahme qualifizieren sich sowohl die Betreuer als auch die Kollegiaten in einem sorgfältigen Auswahlprozess. Das große Ziel: Im Rahmen der Doktorarbeit Ergebnisse zu erzielen, die in Form einer Erstautorarbeit des Doktoranden internationale wissenschaftliche Resonanz finden. Das Fördervolumen beträgt je Forschungskolleg und Standort maximal 750.000 Euro für drei Jahre, mit der Option auf eine zweite Laufzeitperiode.

Die nächste Ausschreibung erfolgt voraussichtlich im Jahr 2020.


Else Kröner-Forschungskollegien für Ärzte

Die Else Kröner-Forschungskollegien sind ein innovatives Instrument in der deutschen Förderlandschaft und richten sich an forschungsstarke Universitätskliniken. Die Kollegiaten können sich ein bis zwei Jahre ganz auf ihr Forschungsprojekt konzentrieren und in einer wissenschaftlich exzellenten Forschungsgruppe ein gemeinsames Themenfeld bearbeiten. Ein begleitendes Curriculum schafft darüber hinaus eine umfassende Wissensbasis und knüpft Kontakte zu internationalen Experten. Das Fördervolumen beträgt je Forschungskolleg maximal 1,0 Millionen Euro für drei Jahre, mit der Option einer zweiten Laufzeitperiode.

Fristende: 2. Mai 2018

Übersicht der derzeit laufenden Forschungskollegien

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg C. Kalff Angeborene Immunität und chronische Organdysfunktion, Universitätsklinikum Bonn. (2011 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2014 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Stilgenbauer Stammzellen, Alterung und maligne Transformation. Vom experimentellen Modell zur klinischen Anwendung, Universitätsklinikum Ulm. (2011 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2014 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Beilhack Interdisziplinäre translationale Immunologie, Universitätsklinikum Würzburg. (2011 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2014 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Walz Nierenfunktionsstörungen als Komplikationen von Systemerkrankungen, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg. (2013 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2016 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer Mikrobielle Trigger als Auslöser von Krankheiten, Technische Universität München. (2013 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2016 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Klein Seltene Erkrankungen des Immunsystems - von der Pathophysiologie zur Entwicklung neuer Therapiestrategien, LMU München Kinderklinik und Kinderpoliklinik im Dr. von Haunerschen Kinderspital. (2013 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2016 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Dobbelstein Molekulare Therapie und Prädiktion beim kolorektalen Karzinom, Universitätsmedizin Göttingen. (2014 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2018 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda Zielgerichtete Therapiestrategien in der Onkologie ("Targeted Therapies"): von den molekularen Grundlagen zur klinischen Anwendung,  Universitätsklinikum  Frankfurt a. Main. (2014 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2018 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Fischer Die Bedeutung des inflammatorischen Mikromilieus für die Entwicklung von Präneoplasien: von den molekularen Signalen zu neuen Therapiestrategien, Universitätsklinikum Magdeburg. (2014 für 3 Jahre bewilligt. Nach erfolgreicher Zwischenbegutachtung 2018 einmalige Verlängerung um weitere 3 Jahre.)
  • Prof. Dr. Ghazaleh Tabatabai Therapieresistenz solider Tumore, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen. (2016 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Marion Subklewe Immuntherapie zur Behandlung von Krebserkrankungen: Wirk- und Resistenzmechanismen, LMU Klinikum der Universität München (2016 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Falkai Translationale Psychiatrie, LMU Klinikum der Universität München. (2016 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Otto Witte Altern und Krankheit: Translationale Analyse von therapeutischen Interventionen (AntiAge), Universitätsklinikum Jena. (2016 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Ali El-Armouche Phosphoproteom-Dynamik: Schlüssel für die Entwicklung neuartiger Wirkprinzipien und fachübergreifender Konzepte in der Krebs-, Neuro- und Diabetestherapie, Universitätsklinikum Dresden. (2017 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Oefner Else-Kröner-Forschungskolleg für interdisziplinäre translationale Immuno-Onkologie, Universitätsklinikum Regensburg. (2017 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Pahl Immunological Causes and Therapies of Cancer, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg. (2017 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Reinhardt Targeting therapy-induced dynamic alterations within the cancer genome, Uniklinik Köln. (2017 für 3 Jahre bewilligt.)

  • Prof. Dr. Dennis Kätzel, Institut für Angewandte Physiologie, Universität Ulm,
    (vorheriger Arbeitgeber: University College London)
  • Prof. Dr. Oliver J. Muensterer, Klinik und Poliklinik für Kinderchirurgie der Universitätsmedizin,
    Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, (vorheriger Arbeitgeber: New York Medical College)
  • Prof. Dr. Paul Christian Schulze, Innere Medizin/Kardiologie an der Universität Jena, (vorheriger Arbeitgeber: Columbia University Medical Center, New York )
  • Prof. Dr. Hendrik Streeck, Institut für Medizinische Biologie, Universitätsklinikum Essen,
    (vorheriger Arbeitgeber: Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Rockville)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Ghazaleh Tabatabai, Neurologische Universitätsklinik, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen,
    (vorheriger Arbeitgeber: UniversitätsSpital Zürich)