Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Submitting an application to the EKFS

Applicants for medical and scientific funding will find more information here, as well as a link to submit their application directly to the Foundation electronically, to kontakt(at)ekfs.de.

The EKFS focusses its funding of individual projects on three lines of funding:

  • outstanding first and second applicants,
  • pioneering key projects of experienced, leading international applicants,
  • and, since 2017, medical projects with a high degree of translational potential, with concepts that directly benefit patients.

In 2016, 41 projects from first applicants and 19 promising key projects were approved. The multiplier effect of these 60 approved individual projects can be put into man-years: based on the medical and scientific funding projects from 2016 alone, the Foundation is funding a total of 190 man-years for young scientists.

Individual project funding - applications possible at any time

Applications opened up to young researchers: The previous call for first applicants shall henceforth also be open to young researchers, who have already procured max. one funding project of their own in a peer-reviewed procedure.

First and second applicants

Key projects 

Funding for young researchers - New call for applications each year

Next call 2018 (further details to follow):

Else Kröner Exzellenz Stipendien

New line of funding: Translational research

The direct application of new research findings to benefit human health and well-being was always a primary objective of the Foundation’s founder, Else Kröner.

There is a wide gap in Germany between successful fundamental medical and scientific research and its real-time, direct application in routine clinical practice for the benefit of patients. This is due, among other things, to the scarcity of funding for gathering the necessary preclinical data and for initial clinical trials. In the case of therapeutics that require a considerable amount of investment to bring them to market, for example, financially sound investors are often only interested in financing further product development with risk capital after the successful completion of clinical phase 1 and 2 trials.

The EKFS’s aim with its translational research funding is to fund and actively support research projects, in order to bring promising developments to the application stage as quickly as possible to help the sick or prevent diseases. The translational research funding line is open to all patient-side applications, regardless of market size.

Funding programme

The translational research funding line is aimed to support innovative projects with high translational potential, for which the respective patient-related application potential is clearly defined and for which the first convincing research findings have already been demonstrated.

The EKFS supports translational research projects by funding of key experiments or studies that are required to validate the medical approach or the product (drug). In addition, projects that are funded from the translational research funding line have the possibility to receive close expert support for project development and technology and knowledge transfer into application.

Applicants can apply for validation and advancement of their project, for example by

  • payment for external research services, such as a toxicity study, large animal model, etc.
  • financing of further validation studies in cohorts for a new clinical diagnostics
  • start-up financing for an initial clinical trial (e.g. “first-in-man” trial)

As most application-oriented projects are at different stages of development and require very different measures to advance them, the projects approved within the scope of the translational research funding line can receive further support via individually tailored support measures, e.g.:

  • financing of consulting service, e.g. from a patent attorney or with regard to regulatory matters 
  • financing of costs to patent promising inventions
  • assumption of the costs for professional advice on technology and knowledge transfer to the relevant technology or innovation by an external advisor recognized by the EKFS
  • assumption of the costs for professional and intensive consulting with regard to project development and/or spin-off coaching for new spin-off projects by an external consultant recognized by the EKFS

The subsequent continued financing of an advanced-stage translational project supported by the EKFS, for example by an industrial partner, is expressly encouraged. One exception is direct or indirect (co-)financing of the development work of a commercial partner, who, for example, owns the property rights to the product to be developed, meaning that the project manager has no FTO (freedom to operate).


The main applicants are academic scientists, who can send an outline of their project to the EKFS at any time.

This outline should describe the project and its background; it should include adequate scientific details and an agenda with clearly defined milestones (critical for go/no-go decisions), and should describe in as much detail as possible for what or for which measures or points on the agenda funding is being applied for. Applicants should also complete a “EKFS Translation Assessment Form”, which can be downloaded from the EKFS website, presenting a summary of relevant project information, e.g. patent situation, application potential or project risks. Incomplete forms for the translational research programme may result in the application being declined, due to insufficient information.

Applications will be scientifically reviewed by experts and with respect to the application and/or translational potential, based on the following criteria: high feasibility, strong scientific rationale, clear clinical need, translational potential and expertise of the applicant. Applicants for the EKFS funding lines “Initial or Confirmatory Application” and “Key Projects”, who believe that a patient-side product may be developed during the course of their project, are asked to indicate in their application any potential future suitability of their project for translational research funding. Early and additional support of such projects with EKFS translational research funding increases the chances of successful future implementation or commercialization and availability of the concept for the benefit of patients.

Applicants shall be contacted with more detailed questions no later than after the initial review of their application. The EKFS shall follow projects accepted for translational research funding closely, in order to support measures in real time to ensure that the project can be successfully implemented. Before a project is awarded translational research funding, the go/no-go milestones will be agreed and defined by the project manager and the EKFS. Approved projects shall be financed on a step-by-step basis, and only those projects that reach the pre-defined go/no-go milestones shall continue to be financed by the EKFS.

If you have any further questions about this line of funding, please contact Prof. Dr. Martin Zörnig (Head of Translational Research Funding at EKFS) at the EKFS office in Bad Homburg.

Phone: +49 (0)6172 8975-12
Email: m.zoernig(at)ekfs.de

EKFS Translation Assessment Form

Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Die Antragstellung bei der EKFS

Antragsteller für den medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Förderbereich erhalten hier nähere Informationen sowie die Möglichkeit, ihren Antrag direkt elektronisch an die Stiftung zu senden, an kontakt(at)ekfs.de.

Die EKFS fokussiert ihre Einzelprojektförderung auf drei Förderlinien:

  • herausragende Erst- und Zweitantragsteller,
  • wegweisende Schlüsselprojekte erfahrener, international führender Antragsteller,
  • sowie seit 2017 medizinische Projekte mit hohem translatorischen Potenzial, deren Ansätze unmittelbar den Patienten zugutekommen.

Im Jahr 2016 wurden 41 Projekte von Erstantragstellern und 19 vielversprechende Schlüsselprojekte bewilligt. Die multiplikatorische Wirkung dieser 60 bewilligten Einzelprojekte lässt sich in Personenjahren beschreiben: So finanziert die Stiftung allein mit den medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Förderprojekten aus dem Jahr 2016 insgesamt 190 Personenjahre für Nachwuchswissenschaftler.


Einzelprojektförderung - jederzeit beantragbar

Öffnung der Antragsmöglichkeit für junge Nachwuchsforscher: Die bisherige Ausschreibung für Erstantragsteller steht ab sofort auch für Nachwuchsforscher zur Verfügung, die schon max. ein eigenes Förderprojekt in einem begutachteten Verfahren eingeworben haben.


Neue Förderlinie: Translatorik

Die direkte Anwendung neuer Forschungsergebnisse zum Wohle der Menschen war immer ein Hauptanliegen der Stiftungsgründerin Else Kröner. In Deutschland klafft eine breite Lücke zwischen erfolgreicher medizinisch-naturwissenschaftlicher Grundlagenforschung und ihrer zeitnahen, direkten Anwendung im klinischen Alltag zum Wohle der Patienten. Dies liegt u.a. an den knapp bemessenen Fördermitteln für die Erhebung der erforderlichen präklinischen Daten und für erste klinische Studien. Zum Beispiel sind bei Therapeutika, bei denen die Entwicklung bis zum Markt eine erhebliche Investition erfordert, finanzstarke Kapitalgeber häufig erst nach erfolgreich absolvierten klinischen Phase 1 und 2 Studien interessiert, eine weitere Produktentwicklung mit Risikokapital zu finanzieren.

Die EKFS möchte mit ihrer Translatorik-Förderlinie Forschungsprojekte fördern und aktiv unterstützen, um vielversprechende Entwicklungen möglichst schnell zur Anwendung zu bringen, um Kranken zu helfen oder Krankheiten zu verhindern. Die Translatorik-Förderlinie ist für alle patientennahen Anwendungen offen, unabhängig von der Größe des Marktes.

Förderprogramm:

Es sollen translatorische Projekte unterstützt werden, um das Risiko des Projektes durch die Finanzierung von Schlüsselexperimenten oder Studien zu verringern, die für die Validierung des medizinischen Ansatzes bzw. des Produktes erforderlich sind.

Außerdem haben Projekte, die im Rahmen der Translatorik-Förderlinie gefordert sind, die Möglichkeit, bei der Projektentwicklung und dem Technologie- und Wissenstransfer in die Anwendung eine enge Betreuung durch Experten zu erhalten.
Die EKFS unterstützt mit der Translatorik-Förderlinie innovative Projekte mit hohem Translationspotenzial, für die das jeweilige patientenrelevante Anwendungspotenzial klar definiert ist und für die die ersten überzeugenden Forschungsergebnisse bereits vorliegen. Antragsteller können die Validierung und Weiterentwicklung des Projektes beantragen, wie z. B. die

  • Bezahlung externer Forschungsleistungen wie Toxizitätsstudie, Großtiermodell usw.
  • Finanzierung weiterer Validierungsstudien in Kohorten für eine neue Diagnostik
  • Anschubfinanzierung einer ersten klinischen Studie (z.B. „first-in-man“ Studie)


Da sich die meisten anwendungsorientierten Projekte auf unterschiedlichem Entwicklungsstand befinden und für ihre Weiterentwicklung sehr verschiedene Maßnahmen vonnöten sind, können die im Rahmen der Translatorik-Förderlinie bewilligten Projekte durch individuell angepasste Fördermaßnahmen weiter unterstützt werden, z.B.:

  • Finanzierung einer Beratung z.B. durch einen Patentanwalt oder zu regulatorischen Fragen 
  • Finanzierung der Patentierungskosten aussichtsreicher Erfindungen
  • Übernahme der Kosten für die professionelle Beratung hinsichtlich des Technologie- und Wissenstransfers der entsprechenden Technologie bzw. Innovation durch einen von der EKFS anerkannten externen Berater
  • Übernahme der Kosten für die professionelle und intensive Beratung hinsichtlich Projektentwicklung und/oder Spin-off-Coaching für neue Ausgründungsprojekte durch einen von der EKFS anerkannten externen Berater

Die anschließende Weiterfinanzierung eines durch die EKFS geförderten translatorischen Projektes im fortgeschrittenen Stadium, beispielsweise durch einen industriellen Partner, ist ausdrücklich erwünscht. Ausgeschlossen ist die direkte oder indirekte (Mit-) Finanzierung der Entwicklungsarbeit eines kommerziellen Partners, der z.B. die Schutzrechte für das zu entwickelnde Produkt besitzt, so dass für den Projektleiter keine FTO (freedom-to-operate) besteht.

Antragstellung:

Die Hauptantragsteller sind akademische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die jederzeit eine Skizze ihres Vorhabens an die EKFS schicken können.

Diese Skizze soll das Projekt und dessen Hintergrund mit ausreichenden wissenschaftlichen Details und einem Arbeitsprogramm mit klar definierten Meilensteinen (kritisch für Go-/No-Go-Entscheidungen) beschreiben und möglichst genau ausführen, wofür bzw. für welche Maßnahmen oder Punkte des Arbeitsprogrammes eine Förderung beantragt wird. Zusätzlich sollen Antragsteller ein von der EKFS bereitgestelltes und von der Homepage herunterzuladendes Dokument „Formular für das Translatorikprogramm“ ausfüllen, in dem relevante Projekt-Informationen, wie z.B. Patentsituation, Anwendungspotenzial oder Projektrisiken, zusammenfassend dargestellt werden. Unvollständig ausgefüllte Formulare für das Translatorik-Programm können zu einer Ablehnung des Antrags aufgrund unzureichender Informationen führen.

Anträge werden von Experten wissenschaftlich und hinsichtlich des Anwendungs- bzw. Translationspotenzials anhand folgender Kriterien begutachtet: hohe Umsetzbarkeit, starke wissenschaftliche Begründungen, klarer klinischer Bedarf, Translationspotenzial und Expertise des Antragstellers. Antragsteller für die EKFS-Förderlinien „Erst- oder Zweitantrag“ sowie „Schlüsselprojekte“, die annehmen, dass es im Verlaufe ihres Projektes zu einer patientennahen Produkt-Entwicklung kommen kann, werden gebeten, bereits bei Antragstellung auf eine mögliche zukünftige Relevanz ihres Projektes für die Translatorik-Förderlinie hinzuweisen. Die frühzeitige und zusätzliche Unterstützung solcher Projekte durch die EKFS Translatorik-Förderlinie erhöht die Chancen für eine erfolgreiche zukünftige Umsetzung bzw. Kommerzialisierung und Verfügbarkeit des Ansatzes zum Wohle von Patienten.
 
Die Antragsteller werden für weitere Detailfragen, spätestens nach erfolgter Evaluation ihres Antrages, kontaktiert. Die EKFS wird in die Translatorik-Förderlinie aufgenommene Projekte eng begleiten, um zeitnah Maßnahmen zu unterstützen, mit denen die erfolgreiche Umsetzung des Projektes sichergestellt werden kann. Vor einer Förderung eines Projektes im Rahmen der Translatorik-Förderlinie werden die Go-/No-Go-Meilensteine in Absprache zwischen Projektleiter und EKFS festgelegt. Bewilligte Projekte werden schrittweise finanziert und nur Projekte, die die vorab definierten Go-/No-Go-Meilensteine erfolgreich erreichen, werden von der EKFS weiter finanziert.

Für weitere Fragen zur neuen Förderlinie wenden Sie sich bitte über die EKFS Geschäftsstelle in Bad Homburg an Prof. Dr. Martin Zörnig (Leiter Förderlinie Translatorik der EKFS).


Nachwuchsförderung - jährlich wechselnde Ausschreibungen