Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Yetnebersh Nigussie – a blind woman sharpens our focus on justice

One in seven people on our planet is living with a disability. This is a statement made by the World Bank and the World Health Organisation in their “World Report on Disability”. As a result, more than a billion people often live on the margins of society, frequently displaced, afflicted, forgotten. The presentation of this year’s Right Livelihood Award on 1 December in Stockholm makes a strong voice from Ethiopia the global crusader for the rights of those who, at least since the inception of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, should be experiencing normal inclusion. But they aren’t.

Yetnebersh Nigussie has a fascinating personal life story: Living in rural Ethiopia, she loses her sight at the age of just five. A fortunate set of circumstances leads her to a Catholic boarding school, where, as one of the most gifted students, she begins her career, later gaining her law degree. Yetnebersh Nigussie is one of the most prominent campaigners against marginalisation and for the inclusion of people with disabilities. As she is fond of saying: “I have one disability and 99 abilities, yet most people tend to see only my disability!” As an employee of the charity organisation “Light for the World”, Yetnebersh Nigussie raised her bold voice in the massive Chamber of Human Rights of the United Nations in Geneva and at the UNO in New York, pricking the global conscience with multi-faceted statements: “Nothing about us without us!”

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Priglinger, Director of the University Eye Clinic in Munich and honorary member of the board of Light for the World never tires of highlighting the following: “One in two blind people in Ethiopia suffers from cataracts and, in many cases, they could be cured of years of blindness with a 15-minute operation!” With the establishment of two university eye clinics in Ethiopia – in the towns of Jimma and Gondar - Light for the World has reached a milestone in providing sustainable ophthalmic aid. The joint struggle against poverty-related blindness unites the Munich experts with this year’s Alternative Nobel Prize winner. The Else Kröner-Fresenius Stiftung has been supporting the nationwide training of the so urgently needed ophthalmic specialists in Ethiopia for four years, for the benefit of particularly disadvantaged people suffering from ophthalmic diseases and blindness. This is because more than 600,000 blind people in Ethiopia suffer from cataracts, and they could be cured with eye surgery.In Yetnebersh Nigussie´s case, help came too late for her eyesight. And it is for that reason that this great, blind woman is sharpening our focus on justice in the world.               

 

www.light-for-the-world.org

https://www.light-for-the-world.org/right-livelihood-award-yetnebersh-nigussie

Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Yetnebersh Nigussie – eine blinde Frau schärft unseren Blick für Gerechtigkeit

Jeder siebte Mensch auf unserem Planeten lebt mit einer Behinderung. Das haben die Weltbank und die Weltgesundheitsorganisation in ihrem „World Report on Disability“ festgestellt. Mehr als eine Milliarde Menschen leben dadurch oft am Rande ihrer Gesellschaft, oft verdrängt, verflucht, vergessen. Eine starke Stimme aus Äthiopien wird durch die Verleihung des diesjährigen Right Livelihood Award am 01. Dezember in Stockholm zur weltweiten Ruferin für die Rechte derjenigen, die spätestens seit dem Inkrafttreten der UN Konvention zu den Rechten der Menschen mit Behinderung eine selbstverständliche Inklusion erleben sollten. Tun sie aber nicht.

Yetnebersh Nigussie betört durch ihre persönliche Lebensgeschichte: Im Lebensalter von fünf Jahren im ländlichen Äthiopien verliert sie ihr Augenlicht. Eine Fügung glücklicher Umstände bringt sie in ein katholisches Internat, wo sie als eine der Begabtesten ihre Karriere bis zum späteren Studienabschluss der Rechtswissenschaften beginnt. Yetnebersh Nigussie ist eine der wichtigsten globalen Kämpferinnen gegen Ausgrenzung und für die Inklusion von Menschen mit Behinderungen. Ihr Lieblingssatz ist denn auch: „Ich habe eine Behinderung und 99 Fähigkeiten, doch die meisten Menschen neigen dazu, nur meine Behinderung zu sehen!“ Als Mitarbeiterin der Hilfsorganisation „Licht für die Welt“  erhob Yetnebersh Nigussie ihre eherne Stimme im grossen Menschenrechtssaal der Vereinten Nationen in Genf wie auch bei der UNO in New York und verankerte mit facettenreichen Statements im Weltgewissen: „Nichts über uns, ohne uns!“

Prof.Dr. Siegfried Priglinger, Direktor der Universitätsaugenklinik in München und ehrenamtlicher Vorstand von Licht für die Welt e.V. wird nicht müde zu betonen: „Jeder zweite blinde Mensch in Äthiopien leidet an Grauem Star und könnte mit einer 15-minütigen Operation von oft jahrelanger Blindheit geheilt werden!“ Mit der Errichtung von zwei Universitätsaugenklinik in Äthiopien – den Städten Jimma und Gondar - hat Licht für die Welt einen Meilenstein für nachhaltige augenmedizinische Hilfe gelegt. Der gemeinsame Kampf gegen Armutsblindheit verbindet den Münchner Fachexperten mit der diesjährigen Alternativnobelpreisgewinnerin. Die Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung fördert seit vier Jahren die landesweite Ausbildung der so dringend benötigten augenmedizinischen Fachkräfte in Äthiopien, im nachhaltigen Dienst für besonders benachteiligte Augenkranke und Blinde. Denn mehr als 600.000 blinde Menschen in Äthiopien leiden am Grauen Star und könnten mit Augenoperationen geheilt werden.

Für Yetnebersh Nigussie´s Augenlicht kam die Hilfe zu spät. Und so schärft diese grosse, blinde Frau heute unseren Blick für Gerechtigkeit in der Welt.                    

 

www.light-for-the-world.org

https://www.light-for-the-world.org/right-livelihood-award-yetnebersh-nigussie