Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Excerpts from the statutes of the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung

The Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung is dedicated to advancing medical research and to supporting medical-humanitarian aid.

The foundation’s purpose is specified in Paragraph 2 of the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung’s statutes.

(1) The purpose of the foundation is the support of medical research; primarily in the research and treatment of diseases, including the development of instruments and medicines, for example in the area of artificial kidneys.  The foundation is only permitted to support research projects which make their findings available to the public.

Furthermore, the goal of the foundation is to support the education of medical practitioners or other personnel who provide medical treatment and medical care, primarily in the area of dialysis, and the education and training of especially talented pupils and students in school and at university.

(2)  Further to Para. 53 AO (in the German tax code governing tax-deductible donations), the foundation also provides charitable support, primarily for medical care, to individuals who, because of material hardship or because of their mental, physical or emotional conditions, depend on the help of others; this includes the support of accident victims and geriatric care. 

(3) The foundation can support both domestic and foreign projects.

(4) To achieve the foundation’s goals as stipulated in paragraphs 1 and 2, the foundation can itself be active and/or engage a third party that shares its goals. Goals stipulated under Paragraph 1 are achieved primarily with the support of medical research, the organisation of symposia, the endowment of university chairs and scholarships, the support of scientific publications or with the authorisation of funding for research projects.

(5) The foundation can also fund other charitable corporations. The foundation can provide funding to achieve its charitable goals or to achieve the goals of another charitable corporation; the funding of a private corporation with no limited tax obligation requires that the corporation itself enjoys a favoured tax status (Para. 58 No. 1 AO).

Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Aus der Verfassung der Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung

Testament Else Kröner

Die  Else  Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung  dient  der  Förderung medizinischer Wissenschaft und unterstützt medizinisch-humanitäre Projekte.

Der Stiftungszweck ist im § 2 der Verfassung der Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung verankert:

(1) Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung der medizinischen Wissenschaft, und zwar vorrangig auf den Gebieten der Erforschung und der Behandlung von Erkrankungen, einschließlich der Entwicklung von Geräten und Präparaten, beispielsweise von künstlichen Nieren. Die Stiftung darf nur solche Forschungs-aufgaben fördern, deren Ergebnisse der Allgemeinheit zugänglich sind.

Zweck der Stiftung ist ferner die Förderung der Ausbildung von Ärzten oder sonstigen in der Krankenbehandlung und Krankenpflege, vornehmlich auf dem Gebiet der Dialyse tätigen Personen, sowie der Förderung der Bildung und Erziehung besonders begabter Schüler und Studenten.

(2)  Unter Beachtung des § 53 AO verfolgt die Stiftung auch mildtätige Zwecke durch Unterstützung von Personen, die aufgrund einer materiellen Notlage vor allem für ihre medizinische Versorgung oder die infolge ihres geistigen, körperlichen oder seelischen Zustandes auf die Hilfe anderer angewiesen sind, einschließlich der Förderung von Unfallgeschädigten und deren Altenhilfe.

(3) Die Stiftung kann Projekte im In- und Ausland fördern.

(4) Zur Erreichung der Stiftungszwecke nach Absätzen 1 und 2 wird die Stiftung selbst tätig und/oder schaltet Hilfspersonen ein, welche diese Stiftungszwecke verfolgen. Die Verwirklichung der Zwecke nach Absatz 1 erfolgt insbesondere durch die Förderung wissenschaftlicher Projekte, Veranstaltung von Symposien, Gewährung von Stiftungsprofessuren und Stipendien, Förderung wissenschaftlicher Publikationen oder durch Bewilligung von Mitteln zur Durchführung von Forschungsvorhaben.

(5) Die Stiftung kann auch anderen steuerbegünstigten Körperschaften Mittel zur Verfügung stellen. Die Stiftung kann für die Verwirklichung der steuerbegünstigten Zwecke einer anderen Körperschaft oder für die Verwirklichung steuer-begünstigter Zwecke durch eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts Mittel beschaffen; die Beschaffung von Mitteln für eine unbeschränkt steuerpflichtige Körperschaft des privaten Rechts setzt voraus, dass diese selbst steuerbegünstigt ist (§ 58 Nr. 1 AO).