Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

The founding of the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung

Else Kröner and the work she did are inseparable from the work done by the foundation. "If I don’t do it, then who will?" expresses in a nutshell Else Kröner’s commitment to social responsibility.

Her business commitments were always driven by the desire to create something for people. Fresenius’ decades of success put Else Kröner in a position to help her fellow human beings. So in 1983, she founded the non-profit Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung to promote medical research and support people in need. Else Kröner was now in a position to accomplish two goals: preserve a lifetime of achievements and create a vehicle to promote research and help people in accordance with her principles. At the same time, she honoured her adopted father Dr Eduard Fresenius, to whom she owed so much, by adding his name to the foundation.

The development years

The non-profit Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung was authorised by the regional supervisory authority in Darmstadt on 19 May 1983.  Initially capitalised with only 50,000 German marks, the foundation’s ability to provide funding was very limited. Therefore, at the outset, Else and Hans Kröner only backed smaller research projects brought to them by their large circle of acquaintances.

After Else Kröner’s unexpected death on 5 June 1988, all her assets went to the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung, as stipulated in her will. This propelled the foundation into a new phase, both administratively and financially. The foundation was now headed by Else Kröner’s trustees, Dr h.c. Hans Kröner and Dr Alfred Stiefenhofer with Hans Kröner as the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung’s central figure during its years of consolidation. Until shortly before his death in 2006, he shaped the foundation as his late wife would have.

Caption: The large panorama photo at the top shows Else Kröner around 1960 together with staff. Second from right is Dr Hans Kröner, who ran the company together with Else Fernau - the future Else Kröner. The two married in 1964.

Advancing research. Helping people.

In the early 90s, as the foundation’s financial means grew with the Fresenius Group’s commercial success, the foundation began developing comprehensive funding instruments. Initially, medical research awards were funded. This was followed by research grants for physicians and later by innovative funding mechanisms for university medical research, such as the clinician scientist research schools introduced in 2010. Talented physicians with an enthusiastic interest in research were offered the opportunity to immerse themselves in a promising leading-edge medical research project. Today, the foundation can say with pride that some of its grant recipients are among the leading clinician scientists in Germany.

In addition to funding medical research, helping people in need and supporting projects to preserve life were important concerns for Else Kröner. That is why, from the outset, Else Kröner and her husband also made expertise available to less developed countries, and supported humanitarian undertakings both at home and abroad. Here, too, the foundation has accomplished a lot. In just the past five years, medical humanitarian funding was provided for more than 100 projects in more than 40 countries.

The foundation more than 25 years later

Today, the Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung is one of the largest foundations in Germany. Since its founding, the EKFS has funded some 1,650 projects with a gross total outlay of more than €300 million.

The foundation marked the 25th anniversary of Else Kröner’s death on 5 June 2013, by awarding the world-renowned immunologist Prof Ruslan Medzhitov a four-million-euro research prize on the occasion of a festive award ceremony. The foundress`life-time achievements were commemorated on this special occasion. In her tribute, Federal Minister for Education and Research Johanna Wanka, emphasised the foundation’s formidable engagement in an area of research that is not just vitally important for Germany but also for the entire world. This commitment marked the start of the Else Kröner Fresenius Preis für Medizinische Forschung to be presented every four years.

 

 


Welcoming address of the Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany


History of the foundation

In 2008, on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of its founding, the EKFS released the publication “Supporting research, Helping people” which provides a comprehensive look back at its history and at the evolution of the work done by the foundation. It was published by the August Dreesbach Verlag in 2008.

Else Kröner Fresenius Stiftung

Von der Gründung der Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung

Frühjahr 1975 Empfang mit OB Klein

Else Kröner und ihr Werk sind untrennbar mit dem Wirken der Stiftung verbunden. „Wer, wenn nicht wir“ – diese Äußerung Else Kröners bringt ihr soziales Verantwortungsgefühl auf den Punkt.

Ihr Einsatz im Unternehmen war immer schon von dem Gedanken getragen, etwas für die Menschen aufzubauen. Der Erfolg von Fresenius über die Jahrzehnte versetzte Else Kröner in die Lage, ihren Mitmenschen helfen zu können. 1983  gründete sie schließlich die gemeinnützige Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung zur Förderung der medizinischen Wissenschaft und zur Unterstützung notleidender Menschen. Mit einer solchen Stiftung konnte Else Kröner zwei Ziele erreichen: ihr Lebenswerk in seiner Gesamtheit erhalten und eine Einrichtung schaffen, die in ihrem Sinne Forschung fördert und Menschen hilft. Gleichzeitig ehrte sie ihren Adoptivvater Dr. Eduard Fresenius, dem sie viel zu verdanken hatte und dessen Namen sie deshalb mit in den Stiftungsnamen aufnehmen ließ.

Jahre des Aufbaus

Am 19. Mai 1983 wurde die gemeinnützige Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung vom Regierungspräsidenten in Darmstadt genehmigt. In den Anfangszeiten waren die Fördermöglichkeiten der Stiftung mit einem Kapitalstock von zunächst nur 50.000 DM äußerst begrenzt. Daher unterstützten Else und Hans Kröner zunächst nur kleinere Forschungsprojekte, die aus ihrem großen Bekanntenkreis an sie herangetragen wurden.

Mit dem überraschenden Tod von Else Kröner am 5. Juni 1988 ging testamentarisch ihr gesamtes Vermögen auf die Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung über. Damit trat die Stiftung administrativ und finanziell in eine neue Phase ein. Nun standen die von Else Kröner benannten Testamentsvollstrecker Dr. h.c. Hans Kröner sowie Dr. Alfred Stiefenhofer an der Spitze der Stiftung, wobei Hans Kröner in den Konsolidierungsjahren die zentrale Persönlichkeit der Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung war. Bis kurz vor seinem Tod im Jahr 2006 prägte er die Stiftung im Sinne seiner verstorbenen Ehefrau.

(Bild-Hinweis: Das obige große Panoramabild zeigt Else Fernau im Kreis ihrer Mitarbeiter, um 1960. 2. v. r. ist Dr. Hans Kröner, der die Firma an der Seite von Else Fernau - der späteren Else Kröner - leitet. Die beiden heiraten 1964.)

Forschung fördern. Menschen helfen.

Als in den frühen 90er Jahren mit dem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des Fresenius-Konzerns die finanziellen Möglichkeiten der Stiftung wuchsen, begann die Stiftung umfassende Förderinstrumente zu entwickeln. Zunächst wurden medizinische Forschungspreise gefördert. Hinzu kamen Forschungsstipendien für Ärzte sowie innovative Fördermechanismen in der Hochschulmedizin wie die 2010 eingeführten Forschungskollegien. Talentierten, forschungsbegeisterten Ärztinnen und Ärzten sollte die Möglichkeit geboten werden, sich intensiv einem vielversprechenden wissenschaftlichen Projekt widmen zu können. Mit Stolz kann die Stiftung heute sagen, dass einige ihrer Stipendiaten zu den führenden forschenden Ärzten Deutschlands gehören.

Neben der medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Förderung war es Else Kröner ein wichtiges Anliegen, Menschen in Not zu helfen, sich für Projekte zur Erhaltung von Leben einzusetzen. So begannen Else Kröner und ihr Mann schon früh damit, Fachwissen auch in wenig entwickelten Ländern zur Verfügung zu stellen und humanitäre Projekte im In- und Ausland zu unterstützen. Auch hier hat die Stiftung viel erreichen können: Allein in den vergangenen fünf Jahren förderte der medizinisch-humanitäre Förderbereich über 100 Projekte in mehr als 40 Ländern.

Die Stiftung nach über 25 Jahren

Heute zählt die Else Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung zu den größten Stiftungen in Deutschland. Seit ihrem Bestehen hat die EKFS rund 1.600 Projekte mit einem Gesamtvolumen von über 270 Millionen Euro gefördert.

Zum 25. Todestag von Else Kröner veranstaltete die Stiftung am 5. Juni 2013 eine Feierstunde in Berlin. Diesen besonderen Anlass würdigte die Stiftung mit der Vergabe eines mit vier Millionen Euro ausgestatteten Forschungspreises an den weltweit bedeutenden Immunologen Prof. Ruslan Medzhitov. Bundesforschungsministerin Johanna Wanka betonte in ihrer Laudatio das beachtliche Engagement der Stiftung in einem Forschungsbereich, der nicht nur für Deutschland, sondern für die ganze Welt außerordentlich wichtig ist. Diese erste Vergabe war der Auftakt des Else Kröner Fresenius Forschungspreis für Medizinische Forschung, der nun im vierjährigen Turnus, das nächste Mal 2017, vergeben wird.


Grußwort der Bundeskanzlerin der Bundesrepublik Deutschland


Die Geschichte zur Stiftung

EKFS – Forschung fördern, Menschen helfen 2008 bis 2011

Die Else Kröner-Fresenius Stiftung hat im Jahr 2008 zu ihrem 25-jährigen Bestehen mit dem Buch »Forschung fördern, Menschen helfen« einen Rückblick auf ihre Geschichte und die Entwicklung der Stiftungsarbeit im August Dreesbach Verlag vorgelegt. Seit Erscheinen dieses ersten Buches konnte die Stiftung weiter wachsen und eine steigende Zahl hervorragender Forschungsarbeiten und humanitärer Projekte fördern. Sie blickt heute auf eine Vielzahl unterstützter Projekte zurück, mit denen der von Else Kröner intendierte Stiftungszweck im besten Sinne erfüllt wurde. Das vorliegende Buch dokumentiert die Stiftungsarbeit der Jahre 2008 bis 2011. Erschienen im August Dreesbach Verlag, 2012.